Skip to main content

Cornell University

PE 1640: Basic Rock Climbing

Climber Bouldering at LCC

We will introduce you to rock climbing movement and techniques, belaying, equipment, knots, rappelling, and safety. Courses ensure a high degree of individual attention and a supportive space to explore the vertical world! Graduates of this course will have the knowledge and skills to push themselves to new challenges while climbing safely and responsibly.

Details

Course Fee

Students: $315
Community: $395
CU Faculty/Staff: $345

Fee Notes

Fee includes climbing pass and free gear rentals for the semester, which begins on the first day of class. 

Fall 2021: pass only valid if open hours is offered by the university.

Attendance

First two classes are mandatory.
Students may miss one class and still receive PE credit.

Prerequisites

No previous experience.

Drop Deadline

August 30th for sections 5, 6, 7, 8. September 3rd for sections 1,2, 3, 9

Enrollment

Enroll through Student Center or by contacting COE at 607-255-6183 or coed@cornell.edu

Links

Medical Form
Section 1 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Monday 9/13/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 9/20/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 9/27/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 10/4/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 10/18/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 10/25/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 11/1/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 11/8/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 11/15/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 11/22/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Monday 11/29/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Section 2 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Tuesday 9/7/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 9/14/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 9/21/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 9/28/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 10/5/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 10/19/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 10/26/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 11/2/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 11/9/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 11/16/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Tuesday 11/30/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Section 3 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Tuesday 9/7/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 9/14/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 9/21/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 9/28/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 10/5/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 10/19/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 10/28/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 11/2/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 11/9/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 11/16/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Tuesday 11/30/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
PE 1641: Basic Rock - Closing the Adventure Gap

Day

Date

Time

Wednesday 9/8/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 9/15/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 9/22/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 9/29/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 10/6/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 10/13/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 10/20/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 10/27/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 11/3/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 11/10/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Wednesday 11/17/21 3:15pm to 4:55pm
Section 5 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Thursday 9/2/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 9/9/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 9/16/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 9/23/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 9/30/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 10/7/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 10/14/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 10/21/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 10/28/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 11/4/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Thursday 11/11/21 9:30am to 11:00am
Section 6 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Thursday 9/2/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 9/9/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 9/16/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 9/23/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 9/30/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 10/7/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 10/14/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 10/21/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 10/28/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 11/4/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Thursday 11/11/21 1:25pm to 2:55pm
Section 7 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Thursday 9/2/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 9/9/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 9/16/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 9/23/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 9/30/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 10/7/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 10/14/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 10/21/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 10/28/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 11/4/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Thursday 11/11/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Section 8 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Friday 9/3/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 9/10/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 9/17/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 9/24/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 10/1/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 10/15/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 10/22/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 10/29/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 11/5/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 11/12/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Friday 11/19/21 3:15pm to 4:45pm
Section 9 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Saturday 9/11/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 9/18/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 9/25/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 10/2/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 10/16/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 10/23/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 10/30/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 11/6/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Saturday 11/13/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
PE1642: Women's Basic Rock Climbing

Day

Date

Time

Sunday 9/12/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 9/19/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 9/26/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 10/3/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 10/17/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 10/24/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 10/31/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 11/7/21 10:45am to 12:45pm
Sunday 11/14/21 10:45am to 12:45pm