Skip to main content

Cornell University

PE 1647: Sport Lead Climbing

Climber Sport Leading at LCC

Sport Lead Climbing focuses on learning the skills needed to safely sport lead climb at the Lindseth Climbing Center and refine your climbing technique towards this style of climbing. Our staff will teach you about sequencing, high angle footwork, endurance and mental conditioning.

For more a more technique-focused course, please refer to Technique & Training

Details

Course Fee

Students: $315
Community: $395
CU Faculty/Staff: $345

Fee Notes

Fee includes climbing pass and free gear rentals for the semester, which begins on the first day of class.

Fall 2021: pass only valid if open hours is offered by the university.

Attendance

First two classes are mandatory. Students may miss two class and still receive PE credit.

Prerequisites

Basic Rock Climbing or equivalent personal experience and Top Rope Belay Certification at the Lindseth Climbing Center.

Drop Deadline

August 30th

Enrollment

Enroll through Student Center or by contacting COE at 607-255-6183 or coed@cornell.edu

Links

Syllabus
Medical Form

Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Friday 9/3/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 9/10/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 9/17/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 9/24/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 10/1/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 10/15/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 10/22/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 10/29/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 11/5/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 11/12/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm
Friday 11/19/21 1:25pm to 3:10pm