Skip to main content

Cornell University

PE 1664: Mountain Biking

Mountain Biking

Mountain Biking is for those who want to learn the skills to ride a bike on single track trails. Skills on the bike include body position, braking, shifting, descending, climbing and navigating natural terrain such as rocks, roots and logs. You will also learn to complete a bike safety check, change a flat tire and navigate on the trails. Classes will take place at different trail systems. Rental bikes are available for a $60 fee.

Details

Course Fee

Students: $270
Community: $335
CU Faculty/Staff: $300

Fee Notes

$60 additional fee for Bike Rental

Attendance

First class is mandatory.
Students can miss one class and still receive PE credit.

Prerequisites

Ability to comfortably ride a bike. Mountain Biking is geared towards beginning mountain bikers, but it takes place on narrow, uneven trails and basic bike handling skills are a must.

Drop Deadline

9/1/20

Enrollment

Enroll through Student Center or by contacting COE at 607-255-6183 or coed@cornell.edu

Links

Equipment List
Syllabus
Medical Form

Section 1 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Wednesday 9/2/20 5:00pm to 8:00pm
Saturday 9/5/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Saturday 9/12/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Saturday 9/19/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Saturday 9/26/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Saturday 10/3/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Section 2 Schedule

Day

Date

Time

Thursday 9/3/20 5:00pm to 8:00pm
Sunday 9/6/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Sunday 9/13/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Sunday 9/20/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Sunday 9/27/20 10:00am to 3:30pm
Sunday 10/4/20 10:00am to 3:30pm